- Human pathology

Home > Technical section > Biology > Genetics > Pleistocene


Tuesday 20 October 2015

The Pleistocene (symbol "PS") is the geological epoch which lasted from about 2,588,000 to 11,700 years ago, spanning the world’s recent period of repeated glaciations.

The Pleistocene is the first epoch of the Quaternary Period or sixth epoch of the Cenozoic Era.

The end of the Pleistocene corresponds with the end of the last glacial period. It also corresponds with the end of the Paleolithic age used in archaeology.

In the ICS timescale, the Pleistocene is divided into four stages or ages:
- Gelasian,
- Calabrian,
- Ionian,
- Tarantian.

All of these stages were defined in southern Europe. In addition to this international subdivision, various regional subdivisions are often used.