Home > E. Pathology by systems > Digestive system > Esophagus > esophageal epithelial tumors

esophageal epithelial tumors

Wednesday 9 February 2011


- esophageal epithelial tumors

  • esophageal squamous cell papilloma 8052/01
  • esophageal intraepithelial neoplasia
    • esophageal squamous intraepithelial neoplasia
    • esophageal glandular intraepithelial neoplasia (adenoma)
  • esophageal carcinoma
    • esophageal squamous cell carcinoma 8070/3
    • esophageal verrucous (squamous) carcinoma 8051/3
    • esophageal basaloid squamous cell carcinoma 8083/3
    • esophageal spindle cell (squamous) carcinoma 8074/3
    • esophageal adenocarcinoma 8140/3
    • esophageal adenosquamous carcinoma 8560/3
    • esophageal mucoepidermoid carcinoma 8430/3
    • esophageal adenoid cystic carcinoma 8200/3
    • esophageal small cell carcinoma 8041/3
    • esophageal undifferentiated carcinoma 8020/3
    • Others
  • esophageal carcinoid tumor 8240/3

TNM classification of esophageal tumors

This classification applies only to carcinomas.

T – Primary Tumour
- TX Primary tumour cannot be assessed
- T0 No evidence of primary tumour
- Tis Carcinoma in situ
- T1 Tumour invades lamina propria or submucosa
- T2 Tumour invades muscularis propria
- T3 Tumour invades adventitia
- T4 Tumour invades adjacent structures

N – Regional Lymph Nodes
- NX Regional lymph nodes cannot be assessed
- N0 No regional lymph node metastasis
- N1 Regional lymph node metastasis

M – Distant Metastasis
- MX Distant metastasis cannot be assessed
- M0 No distant metastasis
- M1 Distant metastasis

For tumours of lower thoracic oesophagus
- M1a Metastasis in coeliac lymph nodes
- M1b Other distant metastasis

For tumours of upper thoracic oesophagus
- M1a Metastasis in cervical lymph nodes
- M1b Other distant metastasis

For tumours of mid-thoracic oesophagus
- M1a Not applicable
- M1b Non-regional lymph node
or other distant metastasis

Stage Grouping

- Stage 0 Tis N0 M0
- Stage I T1 N0 M0
- Stage IIA T2 N0 M0 or T3 N0 M0
- Stage IIB T1 N1 M0 or T2 N1 M0
- Stage III T3 N1 M0 or T4 Any N M0
- Stage IVA Any T Any N M1a
- Stage IVB Any T Any N M1b